About Me

  • Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree from the University of Toronto, majoring in Psychology (minoring in Physiology and Humanism)
  • Child and Youth Worker (CYW) from Centennial College
  • Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) from the University of Toronto (O.I.S.E.)
  • Additional Qualifications (AQ) - Special Education Part 1 and 2

Child Care Experience
  • As a teenager I worked for Toronto Parks and Recreation, teaching children gymnastics (ages 2-10). 
  • In my early 20's, I provided full-time child care for a year for a family with children aged 1, 2, and 3 (also accompanying them on their annual trip to Florida).
  • I provided part-time child care for two families, each of whom had a child with severe autism. (worked 7 years with one family, 2 years with another)
  • I worked for two years with children who were developmentally delayed (mostly with severe Autism) at Kohai Educational Centre.
  • I have taught grades 3/4 and 4/5 at Springfield Preparatory School. It is an International Baccalaureate certified school (IBO). I have Level 1 IBO training.
  • This is my 6th year working as a home daycare provider. I have provided care for children aged 8 months - 6 years.
  • I joined the organization Youth Assisting Youth (YAY) many years ago. My "junior" or "little brother" was 7 years old at the time. I spent time with him on a weekly basis (6 hours per week) for the first seven years, biweekly for the following 3 years, and now visit him monthly. He is now 25, so it has been 18 years. It is more of a "family thing" now, than a volunteer position. I received an Ontario Volunteer Service Award for this in 2003.
  • I volunteered full-time in the summer of 1998 (both July and August) as a Child Life Worker on the Burns and Plastic Surgery Unit at Sick Children's Hospital.